Home » Sewing » SewPort 2016 – many thanks to Sew Busy Lizzy

SewPort 2016 – many thanks to Sew Busy Lizzy

It’s a bit delayed, but I really should write about the fabulous weekend’s sewing I enjoyed with a group of lovely ladies in Port Macquarie organised by Liz of SewBusyLizzy.   Liz had promised us sun, sand and sea and the opportunity to stroll on beautiful beaches, but the weather was terrible, as NSW was lashed by amazing storms which caused awful flooding in some parts.  However, this made me feel not at all guilty about spending the entire weekend inside sewing as the wind howled outside and the rain lashed the building.

We had a wonderful set up of large cutting table and a big desk space for each of us, complete with power.  Pink hippos, greyhounds and children asking for food (all key features of my sewing experience at home) were notably absent.  Instead there was wonderful knowledgeable company to consult and laugh with, the hum of sewing machines and yummy chocolate brownies to fuel the creativity (thanks Emma and family!).

I now have a shift/pinafore dress pattern that fits (Lekala 5202)  , and a completed dress (thanks Alison for stopping me from throwing it out the window and suggesting ways of handling the lining!).

IMG_0160

Fitting my toile (yes I actually made one!)

I also feel I’ve made some new friends and have come back refreshed and feeling on a sewing-roll, continued absence of sewing machines not-withstanding!  Some photos of creativity in action can be found here (thanks Maria) and here (Rachel). It makes such a difference to actually meet other people who sew, I sometimes feel a bit isolated here, just ploughing my own furrow and making mistakes by myself!

IMG_0165

Koalas on rollerskates – I got some culture in!

Leave a Reply

